this post was submitted on 05 Oct 2026
74 points (97.4% liked)

Technology

88591 readers
3344 users here now

This is a most excellent place for technology news and articles.


Our Rules


  1. Follow the lemmy.world rules.
  2. Only tech related news or articles.
  3. Be excellent to each other!
  4. Mod approved content bots can post up to 10 articles per day.
  5. Threads asking for personal tech support may be deleted.
  6. Politics threads may be removed.
  7. No memes allowed as posts, OK to post as comments.
  8. Only approved bots from the list below, this includes using AI responses and summaries. To ask if your bot can be added please contact a mod.
  9. Check for duplicates before posting, duplicates may be removed
  10. Accounts 7 days and younger will have their posts automatically removed.

Approved Bots


founded 3 years ago
MODERATORS
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] finley@lemmy.zip 1 points 1 hour ago (2 children)

So, you didn’t read the article

[–] Zak@lemmy.world 11 points 1 hour ago

I read the article, and I think DickHertz's comment is pretty much right. The article's example illustrates the point:

For example, Inc. columnist Jason Aten recently discovered that Meta's Muse AI assistant somehow had synced his entire local Messages database and was using those messages as context for its tasks.

Aten did not understand that the Messages database is stored on the disk (presumably) unencrypted and readable by anything with full disk access. He got a result he didn't want because he did not understand the implications of granting that permission, and Apple seeks to add more friction to the process to protect users from making that mistake.

[–] DickHertz@lemmy.world 5 points 1 hour ago (1 children)

Yeah, I read it. That’s kind of the point. Apple’s adding more guardrails because people will click Allow on damn near anything without thinking about what they’re actually giving access to. 🙄

[–] plantfanatic@sh.itjust.works -1 points 1 hour ago (1 children)

Or an update adds it without your knowledge…

[–] DickHertz@lemmy.world 6 points 1 hour ago

Correct me if I’m wrong, but I don’t think an app could give itself Full Disk Access without the user explicitly approving it, even during an update.